Department of Student Experience

VISION
To be a recognized, student-centered department that promotes student learning, enhances holistic development, and encourages personal growth.

MISSION
The Department of Student Experience prepares students for productive and meaningful lives by providing opportunities to enrich academic experiences and enhance social, cultural, physical, spiritual, emotional, and intellectual growth.

STAFF CONTACTS AND LOCATIONS

Department of Student Experience
1715 Building, 1715 9th Avenue South
205-934-4175 • studentlife@uab.edu 

Andy Marsch Assistant Vice President for Student Experience      marsch@uab.edu
Jennifer Liptrot     Administrative Associate jliptrot@uab.edu
Carolyn Dill  Financial Assistant cdill@uab.edu

Student Advocacy, Rights, and Conduct 
1715 Building, 1715 9th Avenue South
205-975-9509 • engagement@uab.edu

Emily Feinstein  Director of Student Engagement eufeinstein@uab.edu
Debbie Morgette     Assistant Director of Student Engagement                       morgette@uab.edu
Leslie Riley Case Manager leslieriley@uab.edu
Shawra Rainer Graduate Case Manager srainer@uab.edu
Alesia Griffen Office Services Specialist III lesiamrg@uab.edu

Student Involvement & Leadership
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
205-934-8020 • getinvolved@uab.edu

Cara Dawn Jones Director of Student Involvement & Leadership                    caradawn@uab.edu
Kristen Bowen Assistant Director of Fraternity & Sorority Life kristeb@uab.edu
David Dada Coordinator of Civic Engagement dldada@uab.edu
Sean Ryan Coordinator of Leadership Programming     ryanse@uab.edu
Quang Do Coordinator of Student Activities qvdo@uab.edu
Caleb Rotton Coordinator of Student Activities ccrotton@uab.edu
Jessica Nathan Coordinator of Student Activities jcnathan@uab.edu
Emily Neutens Coordinator of Student Involvement eneutens@uab.edu
LaShaunda Stephens-Lockhart Office Service Specialist III lsteph3n@uab.edu

Career & Professional Development
936 Building, 936 19th Avenue South
205- 934-4324 • careerservices@uab.edu

Melissa Whatley Interim Director mwhatley@uab.edu  
Vacant Assistant Director, Employer Outreach  
Joy Jones Assistant Director joyjones@uab.edu  
Wes Lybrand Assistant Director wlybrand@uab.edu  
Elizabeth Simmons Assistant Director elizabethsimmons@uab.edu  
Leah Bigbee Marketing & Employer Relations leahbee@uab.edu
Victoria Enyinda Office Manager venyinda@uab.edu
Chiri Ouaoua Resume Coordinator chiri92@uab.edu
Meliah Capers Intern sps-cdpintern@mail.ad.uab.edu

Student Multicultural and Diversity Programs
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
205-934-8020 • diversity@uab.edu

Christopher Jones Program Director jonesc1@uab.edu
Cortney Johnson Senior Coordinator of Multicultural & Diversity Programs cortj@uab.edu
Maigen Sullivan Coordinator of Gender & Sexuality Diversity maigens@uab.edu
Sharifa Wip Mentor Coordinator diva6@uab.edu
Migdawlaw Yisrael Office Service Specialist II  myisrael@uab.edu