Student Life

VISION
To be a recognized, student-centered department that promotes student learning, enhances holistic development, and encourages personal growth.

MISSION
The Department of Student Life prepares students for productive and meaningful lives by providing opportunities to enrich academic experiences and enhance social, cultural, physical, spiritual, emotional, and intellectual growth.

STAFF CONTACTS AND LOCATIONS

Office of Student Life
1715 Building, 1715 9th Avenue South
205-934-4175 • studentlife@uab.edu 

Andy Marsch Assistant Vice President of Student Life         marsch@uab.edu  
Jennifer Liptrot     Administrative Associate jliptrot@uab.edu  
Carolyn Dill  Financial Assistant cdill@uab.edu  

Student Activities
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
1501 University Blvd 
205-934-8225 • stdntactivities@uab.edu 

Kelli Thompson  Assistant Director of Student Activities                 kthomp1@uab.edu  
Jennifer Nix Coordinator of Student Activities jnnix@uab.edu      
Quang Do Coordinator of Student Activities qvdo@uab.edu  
Caleb Rotton Coordinator of Student Activities ccrotton@uab.edu  
Migdawlaw Yisrael Office Service Specialist II myisrael@uab.edu  

 

 

 

 

Student Engagement 
1715 Building, 1715 9th Avenue South
205-975-9509 • engagement@uab.edu

Emily Feinstein  Director of Student Engagement eufeinstein@uab.edu  
Debbie Morgette     Assistant Director of Student Engagement                       morgette@uab.edu  
Leslie Riley Case Manager leslieriley@uab.edu  
Shawra Rainer Graduate Case Manager srainer@uab.edu  
Alesia Griffen Office Services Specialist III lesiamrg@uab.edu  

Student Involvement
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
205-934-8020 • getinvolved@uab.edu

Cara Dawn Jones Assistant Director of Student Involvement                    caradawn@uab.edu  
Rachel Burchfield Coordinator of Leadership Programming     reburchf@uab.edu   
Hannah Davis Coordinator of Civic Engagement hhdavis@uab.edu  
Kaitlin Kirk Coordinator of Greek Affairs kkirk2@uab.edu     
       

Student Media
Pita Stop Building, 1106 12th Avenue South
205- 934-3354 • uabpublications@uab.edu

Marie Sutton Director of Student Media                                          masutton@uab.edu  
Justin C. Massey              Production Manager                                                             jmassey3@uab.edu      

Student Multicultural and Diversity Programs
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
205-934-8020 • diversity@uab.edu

Christopher Jones Program Director jonesc1@uab.edu
Raphael Richard Coordinator of Multicultural and Diversity Programs rtrich01@uab.edu  

Student Athletic Team Support 
Campus Recreation Center, Room 190
205-975-5376 • teamsupport@uab.edu

Ryan Martin                  Spirit Teams Coordinator                                                             rmartin1@uab.edu